

Housing and Work Advisory Group: Updates to Terms of Reference

Introduction

Following the establishment of the Housing and Work Advisory Group ("HAWAG") in February 2024 (MD-CM-2024-104 refers (<u>link</u>)), HAWAG and the Chief Minister agreed to update its Terms of Reference to include the Minister for Education and Lifelong Learning to the list of those who may be extended invitations to join its meetings dependent on the topics under consideration.

Additionally, the Terms of Reference have been updated to confirm that when meetings are held for any purpose other than the consideration of applications, that the extended HAWAG will be chaired by the Chief Minister, or in his absence by Deputy C. Alves, in their capacity as Assistant Minister to the Chief Minister.



Terms of Reference: Housing and Work Advisory Group

Introduction

The Control of Housing and Work (Jersey) Law 2012 ("the Law") states that there shall be constituted a group to be known as the Housing and Work Advisory Group ("HAWAG").

The Law states that the membership of HAWAG shall include:

- 1) An Assistant Minister to the Chief Minister who shall be the chair.
- 2) The Minister for Housing and Communities.
- 3) The Minister for Sustainable Economic Development.

The Law also states that the Chief Minister may appoint other persons to HAWAG.

Purpose

The purpose of HAWAG is as described in the Law and subordinate legislation, including considering applications for 2(1)(e) residential status. The group may also be expanded for policy purposes, as outlined below.

Membership

The membership of HAWAG for its statutory purposes is:

- 1) Deputy I. Gorst, as Assistant Minister to the Chief Minister (Chair).iv
- 2) Deputy S. Mézec, as Minister for Housing and Communities.^v
- 3) Deputy K. Morel, as Minister for Sustainable Economic Development.

In respect of the statutory responsibilities of HAWAG, the meeting shall be deemed quorate when two of the statutory voting Members are present. The Chief Minister may also attend HAWAG as a non-voting member to receive advice and recommendations for the purposes of discharging their responsibilities, which includes making decisions on 2(1)(e) applications.

In addition, the group may be extended to allow for discussions relating to the role of the Control of Housing and Work Law and wider population policy issues. The extended group will include:

- 1) Deputy C. Alves, Assistant Minister to the Chief Minister.
- 2) Deputy L. Feltham, Minister for Social Security.
- 3) Deputy M. Le Hegarat, Minister for Justice and Home Affairs.
- 4) Deputy M. Scott, Assistant Minister for Sustainable Economic Development.
- 5) Deputy R. Ward, Minister for Education and Lifelong Learning.

The Chief Minister may also determine that additional States Members may join or attend the extended group, which will be recorded in the minutes, and in the terms of reference as soon as practical.

The Chief Minister will chair the extended group. In the absence of the Chief Minister, Deputy C. Alves will act as chair.

Officers of the Government of Jersey and the States Greffe shall attend as required.

Meeting Frequency

HAWAG shall meet as and when the Chair deems it required.



Record Keeping and Administrative Support

The Ministerial Office shall provide administrative support to HAWAG. The States Greffe shall prepare and maintain minutes in respect of HAWAG's statutory duties.

¹ See Article 48(1) of the 'Control of Housing and Work (Jersey) Law 2012', Jersey Legal Information Board (<u>link</u>). Accessed February 2024.

ⁱⁱ See Articles 48(2) & 48(3) of 'Control of Housing and Work (Jersey) Law 2012', Jersey Legal Information Board

^{(&}lt;u>link</u>). Accessed Fébruary 2024. iii See Article 48(4) of 'Control of Housing and Work (Jersey) Law 2012', Jersey Legal Information Board (<u>link</u>). Accessed February 2024.

iv See MD-CM-2024-101, Government of Jersey (link). Accessed February 2024.

VOnce the 'Changes to Ministerial Offices (Jersey) Amendment Order 202-' has been made, the Minister shall be known as the Minister for Housing; see 'Notice Under Article 29a(3) of the States of Jersey Law 2005: Changes to Ministerial Offices' (R.23/2024), presented by the Chief Minister, 13 February 2024, States of Jersey (link).